The American Legacy
Metropolitan Playhouse
The American Legacy

220 East Fourth Street  ~  New York, New York   10009
Administration: (212) 995 8410  ~  Tickets: (212) 995 5302

Playing Next Season Tickets Company Location Mission History Links
The Area 9 Quartet

Sunday, D
ecember 11th, 2016
at 4:00 pm

Sean Mix - soprano
Seychelle Dunn-Corbin - alto
John Rabinowitz - tenor 
Kangyi Liu - baritone


"Italian Concerto", J.S. Bach
(arranged for Saxophone Quartet by Paul Wehage)

"Canonic Suite for Quartet of Alto Saxophones", Elliott Carter

Sean Mix - soprano,  Seychelle Dunn-Corbin - alto,
John Rabinowitz - tenor,  Kangyi Liu - baritone

"Four English Folksongs",
arranged by Ralph Vaughan Williams
(transcribed by Clark McAlister)

"Castle in the Air", Michael Kosch

(world premiere)
THE AREA 9 QUARTET is a Boston-based classical saxophone quartet, specializing in original and transcribed repertoire spanning the entirety of the Western musical canon. Its members, Sean, Seychelle, John and Kangyi, came together through their common association with the legendary teacher and performer Ken Radnofsky of the New England Conservatory and Boston University. The group has performed works by Bach, Glazunov, Creston, Desenclos, Glass, Ellington, and Peck, and was honored to premier Jun Feng's "Somehow, Tango?", dedicated by the composer to The Area 9 Quartet, at the Longy School of Music of Bard College. Area 9 is thrilled to be making its fourth appearance at The Metropolitan Playhouse with a new lineup featuring works by Bach, Carter, Vaughan Williams and Kosch.